top of page

DIY: I Renovated My Half Bath for 100$

Updated: Apr 9, 2020

Yes, That's right. One. Hundred. Dollars. got me a new half bath including a new faucet and mirror, and, IT WAS EASY.


Okay - here is the deal. I am not artistic and I am also not patient so when I want something done - like it needs to be done the same day. Now obviously I knew that renovations can't be done in a day, so I was thrilled that I got this done, in literally one week. ONE!


Before we moved I was skimming through Pinterest and I saw post about painting tile in the bathroom, specifically using a stencil to make beautiful patterns on the floor - seemed too easy, and honestly foolish, like painting tile? that wont last long. I continued to see these posts - apparently it was becoming a popular thing. Anyway, we moved and we both knew that some of he house needed some touch ups but we were not in a rush, knowing that we will be in this house for a long time. I knew that the first item I would tackle would be the half bath right off the kitchen. In my spare time I would read blogs and research more about this tile painting. I even went to home depot and talked to an employee for about 15 minutes determined to make sure that painting tile was an actual thing. It is. I promise. Below are the steps:




1) RESEARCH

Like I stated before - I did a lot of research. I read multiple blog post about their experiences, I watched a lot of videos, I read a lot of reviews and I asked ALOT of questions.


2) SUPLLIES and PREP

I was lucky to find this KIT at Home Depot. I recommend getting 1 -2 extra rollers and make sure they are the semi-smooth. You will also need the brush for corners, hard to reach places, and touch ups. When I went to Home Depot for the 3rd time, the gentleman brought me Paint Gripper which was suggested to use at the primer and "hold" for the Latex Paint. I got two cans of each but honestly only needed one each. You will also need Painters Tape, if your messy like me and know you'll end up with paint in places you don't want. Lastly, grab a can of spray paint if you want to quickly upgrade your hardware as well. I used black.

3) CLEAN, CLEAN, and CLEAN AGAIN

Remove everything from the bathroom - take the hardware off, take the tank lid off the toilet and deep clean everything you are going to paint. I went over the surfaces twice.


4) PREP and PRIME

Once you put painters tape around the base of the toilet, around the toilet tank, and sink or vanity, it is now time to take a deep breath. You are about to ( seemingly reckless) apply paint to your bathroom tile. NOTE: REMEMBER TO WORK YOUR WAY OUT OF THE BATHROOM. I painted all four sides first, waited for them to dry and then I started at the farthest corner and started to paint the floor. This took two days. I applied 1.5 coats. Honestly, unless a child is coming into my bathroom with a fork intentionally to wreck the walls, I only applied a second coat to the floor.


5) PAINT

Get your second set of paint rollers out. Easily apply the latex gloss paint over the primer. You will quickly become relieved once you notice everything smoothing out and getting full coverage. Again - I applied 1.5 coats. Again, this took 3 days because I would wait for the walls to dry before I started on the floor and then again waited a day to go back and get into the corners where the roller did not reach with an angled brush.


In the background, I had taken the hardware off and spray painted them black. They are drying.


6) DECORATE


Once all the paint is dry. I went back and removed the painters tape. I cleaned all the surfaces again. ( I was so nervous, I anticipated the paint coming right off with a single wipe). I did a couple touch ups and then I was ready to decorate. Again, I re-applied the hardware which was spray painted black. I have purchased a new mirror and faucet and grabbed yet another wicker basket for decoration. Pictures below.






How to Replace a Faucet:


Step one : ASK FOR HELP - this is my second time around replacing a faucet and I still need assistance. Replacing a faucet actually is not difficult at all if you have the right tools.


Step two: TURN OFF THE WATER. follow the "lines" or "pipes" that are coming from your faucet - there should be two knobs. Turn them so they are off. If you don't trust that, then you need to find the full water supply knob to the house and turn that knob off - now act as if you were going to turn the water on. Some water may still come out and that's okay as long as eventually no water is coming out of the faucet. You have successfully turn off the water.


Step three: GET TOOLS AND A BUCKET - Disclaimer I am not a plumber so hopefully the screws wont be offended when I call them bolts or whatever comes to mind. Remember how you found the water valves? looks at those "pipes" again. They should be somewhat bendy. Anyway- get a wrench out, they need to go. unscrew the TOP- this will be closest to the faucet, underneath the vanity. ( Also, this is why my faucet if not replaced yet - one of the bolts has rusted over and I don't have the proper tools to get it removed yet - Dad is on his way over in the next week) YOU MAY NOTICE WATER DRIPPIN AND THATS OKAY - ITS JUST THE WATER THAT IS STUCK IN THE PIPES - I told you to grab a bucket, duh.


Step four: Once the pipes are detached - you should realize now that you can remove the faucet on the vanity! woo hoo. Place the new faucet where the old faucet was and attach the lines again.


DISCLAIMER : I AM NOT A PLUMBER SO PLEASE REMEMBER TO COMPLETE STEP ONE! ASK FOR HELP!



72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page