top of page

Wonton Soup : Easier than Chicken Noodle or Chili

I was at work craving wonton soup, so much so, that I was honestly annoying my coworkers about it - even ask my bff Kristen. When most think of comfort food, I imagine, warm homemade mac and cheese, or grandma's chicken noodle soup, for me -- Wonton Soup. Ill spare you the questions -- I don't have any Asian ancestry, nor do I have any logical explanation for why I find Wonton soup, of all soups, so comforting.


Now, if you were to ask me about food preferences - I will always be 110% salty and savory, which makes up a perfect combination when it comes to wonton soup. The wontons are salty and bursting with pork, which are swimming in a pool of warm savory broth. ( insert drool here).


Anyway, I figured, I love wonton soup so much that I should challenge myself to making it - so I was set out to make my Wonton soup on Sunday, and let me tell you how excited and determined I was -- all my coworkers heard about it twice by the time noon came around.


I assumed that making Wonton soup would be difficult and the attempt of just getting the ingredients seemed to haunt the truth of my assumption. I had to go to 4 different grocery stores to find the main ingredient - Wonton wrappers. But I am going to blame the Pandemic for the sort supply. I also set aside a large block of time to make this soup yet to my surprise i was done in 30 minutes (give or take). This soup was soooooo easy, it literally took less time than to make basic chicken noodle soup, or chili.


Here is the recipe!


What you need :


Wonton wrappers - call your local grocery store prior to check on supply


Wonton Filling:

8oz of ground pork

2 green onions - finely chopped

1 tablespoon soy sauce

1 teaspoon of sesame oil

1 teaspoon fresh ginger - grated

1 1/2 teaspoons cornstarch


Broth

8 cups chicken broth

2 cloves garlic - whole

2 slices ginger - approx. 1/4 "

2 tablespoon soy sauce

1 teaspoon sesame oil

2 green onions sliced


Instructions:


Wontons:

1.In a large bowl combine all filling ingredients and mix.

2. Place 1 teaspoon filling in the center of the wonton, brush all edges of wonton and fold over into a triangle. Wet the two longer tips and bring them together.

3. Place on parchment paper.





Broth:

1. Bring all broth ingredients to a boil. Summer 10 minutes.

2. Remove garlic and ginger and throw away

3. Add in wontons, simmer for 4-6 minutes or until pork is cooked through.


ENJOY!








46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page